Teaching & Learning


At Sacred Heart, we provide a balanced Curriculum as directed by NESA (formerly NSW Board of Studies).

Our school is supported by the Catholic Schools Office, Diocese of Broken Bay which exists to educate and form young people in Catholic Discipleship offering the experiences of following Jesus as members of Catholic community.

The seven Key Learning Areas taught K-6 are:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Human Society and its Environment (HSIE)
  • Science and Technology
  • Creative Arts
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)

The primary curriculum is organised into Stages:

  • Early Stage 1: Kindergarten
  • Stage 1: Year 1 and Year 2
  • Stage 2: Year 3 and Year 4
  • Stage 3: Year 5 and Year 6

Teachers design teaching and learning programs that take into account students’ learning needs. On-going assessment for learning enables teachers to make professional judgments about student achievement and to adjust the teaching program to support each student’s learning.

Specialist Teachers (Physical Education, Music, and Library) work with classes and groups of children to enrich the program provided by the school. In addition to this, a dedicated Learning Support team works in collaboration with Class teachers to cater for individual learning needs of students.

Regular and specific feedback is provided for both students and parents to further support effective learning. Student reports are issued twice a year, at the end of each semester. Formal interviews with teachers are offered at the end of the first semester. Parents are also encouraged to contact the teacher and/or the principal should questions arise outside of these times.